Saving It

26 Apr

I’ve been getting a bit of flack through the grapevine lately and since I’m incapable of letting things go, I’ve been dwelling on it.  Coming into this relationship with my military sweetheart, I knew that the views of his coworkers and fellow soldiers would be somewhat more conservative than his or mine.  I also knew that being involved with one of the army’s men would include me in the tightly woven community that’s formed on any military installation.  Knowing all of that it should have come as no surprise to learn that our decision to remain unmarried and rent an apartment together has met with some opposition.

I respect the differing opinions about when it’s appropriate to live with a romantic interest and I won’t lie, I definitely form an opinion when someone tells me that they’re saving themselves for marriage.  But why am I choosing not to save my “living with a boy cherry” until marriage?  Well first off, I popped that cherry (I’m nearing my one year anniversary of breaking it off with my previous live-in boyfriend).  And I can safely say that it’s a damn good thing that I didn’t decide to marry him before we lived together.  All the things I thought would change – his magpie/hobo/packrat tendencies, cranky mornings, and low libido – never did.

In all truthfulness, I have wanted to get married.  My modern sexuality and independence have no say when it comes to the old school Romantic residing in my head.  Getting married would make most of the practical aspects of my move to Honolulu disappear.  But my amazingly practical partner and I both know that the emotional stress of marrying one another after less than a year of long distance dating would be overbearing.  In the end, we just want to be together.  Sure, relocating my life (and books) across an ocean is a huge ordeal.  But if we are half as happy together as I think we will be, it’ll all have been worth it.

So, I hate to offend . . . well maybe I don’t actually.  But this is just the way it is.  My old school romance is taking a back seat on this one and letting her wild and crazy sister, Spontaneity take the wheel.  I can’t wait until they find out I’m bisexual.  And poly . . .

2 Responses to “Saving It”

  1. Miriam 26. April 11 at 10:39 #

    Way to go! Sometimes you just have to be yourself and let that freak people out. All that matters is that your partner understands and accepts you. :)

    • Pineapple Lady 29. April 11 at 10:00 #

      Thanks for your feedback! Makes me feel fierce, thank you.

Leave a Reply

